Irony in social media

Irony is one of those things most people just don’t get. An example was the song Ironic by Alanis Morisette. In a second year English course, we studied irony, & the coursework referred to all the things in Alanis’ song as “bummers.” Rain on your wedding day is not ironic. This is ironic:

โ€œDon’t you quote Sister White. I don’t want you ever to quote Sister White…โ€ – Ellen G. White

To quote Ellen White saying that you shouldn’t quote Ellen White.

If one looks at the above pictures, the Irony behind the Assange/Zuckerberg picture is immediately obvious, or is it? The tweet by Moftasa may not be quite so obvious. What really makes the irony of the first picture is the fact that it was circulated on Facebook, where we all have the joy of Zuckerberg’s inventiveness, but are willing, at the same time, to deride that inventiveness.

Thus arrives the Moftasa tweet, I’m actually not the first person on the web to point out the irony of such tweets. I liked this tweet, I even retweeted, but the point is, while we are taking a dig at Twitter, our mere presence on their network is making it’s owners money. So we need to protest the fact that Twitter is going to self censor, and it seems the best way is to use Twitter – see the irony? You will no longer be able to view tweets about Armenian Genocide in Turkey, because as far as the state is concerned it never happened. You will no longer be able to view tweets denying Armenian Genocide in France as to deny it is a crime in France. So the further irony of this tweet is the fact that it will be blocked in both countries. These few inventive words said a lot.

I’ve noticed how, while I’ve been mulling the idea of blogging about this over in my head, further things have fortuitously popped up. A Rupert Murdoch tweet the other day stated that you couldn’t trust Reuters due to the owners having interests in oil, & therefore not being impartial, on certain issues. This immediately made me question Murdoch’s media empire. See, if a media giant calls the credibility of a rival into question, it immediately opens itself to the same type of questions. Murdoch was an avid supporter of SOPA and PIPA, something that many internet giants opposed. He even tweeted about it! Isn’t that ironic in itself, since Twitter is probably used by people to circulate information about how to get copyright stuff for free? So the question arises, if Reuters can be labelled as partial on matters concerning Thompson, can Murdoch’s outlets’ partiality be called into question over SOPA and PIPA? Of course, in both cases, credibility is probably questionable, what’s ironic is that Murdoch opened the door here.

My post on Silly Spam being sent around via Blackberry Messenger broadcast messages revealed an ironic situation in itself. I could use my usual avenues for getting the link out there, Twitter; Facebook and messages to friends I think may be interested, but the most effective way to get it to the people who actually need to read it is through a Broadcast Message on Blackberry Messenger. I considered this for a while, because if I market my blog by sending links to people who may not want them, then I’m spamming them. If I don’t use the option of these broadcasts, people aren’t going to see how much this spam irritates me, and they’ll send me more of it. Eventually I made a decision and sent out a broadcast message, and spammed people – without missing the irony of what I was doing.

We encounter irony every day, but few of us actually think about the inconsistency of the human race. We are a funny people, & we take ourselves far to seriously. We need to step back & take a look, and have a good laugh.

2 thoughts on “Irony in social media”

  1. Perhaps the irony of the song “Ironic” is it’s lack of irony? Isn’t it ironic, don’t you think? ๐Ÿ˜‰

    Social media… just perpetuates what happens every day. Perhaps it just makes it easier to get so much more junk out there, where people so rarely actually check their facts, they simply just forward it on. Always wanted to do something like that myself to see how long it would take to get back to me. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Although I thought it was rather amusing how everyone was talking about how Google+ would be a facebook killer, but having these discussions on Facebook.

    Just a little to ironic don’t you think?

    1. There should be a like button for this comment.

      Perhaps one day I’ll get a link back to my blog telling me not to send broadcast messages because they waste peoples time. Wouldn’t that be ironic?

What do you think?

