A good method for getting through the Bible

In less than a week, I’ll be starting to post the daily readings for getting through the Bible. I look to start on Sunday (6 January). Instead of going from beginning to end, or reading a bit here and a bit there, I have decided to go through chronologically.

So what I will do is post 3 or 4 chapters a day, depending on how long a section is (I don’t want to interrupt a story in the middle if I can help it). Sometimes I’ll through sections in from elsewhere, for example I’ll break up the beginning of the Chronicles and fit it into the various sections where it is historically applicable. The Psalms will be fitted into their Historical context, as will the prophets. The gospels will be broken up to fit together, which will make comparing accounts easier. The Epistles will be fitted into the context of Acts. Hopefully this will make things a bit clearer and easier to understand.

I will be compiling a list of resources, and will refer to useful sections from these resources as I find them. These various comments will be included in posts with the texts for each daily reading. From time to time I may dedicate an entire post to a particular issue, if I feel it is warranted.

I will be using the protestant Bible, for those who wish to read the extra bits in the Apocrypha, the Jerusalem Bible is useful, but the You Versions Bible app for smartphones has the Catholic Public Domain Version, which has the additional books.

Hope to have all of you joining in, and providing feedback, if anything bothers you, or you have comments, use the comment box. If you know anyone who may like to join in, go the reading through the Bible tab, and share it with them. I look fowrad to having you and your friends join in.

What do you think?

