Reading through the Bible: day 81

I apologise for being absent for so long, but I was asked to design a website for a pyramid scheme. Once I realised that is what it was I pulled out, but it cost me a lot of time and sleep, and I wrote piles of code I’ll likely not have any other use for. I’ll be having a look into the issues, and why I feel that just doing work without asking questions makes you and accomplice the immoral actions you provide a platform for.

But, I owe you a post. Today Ruth, which is a welcome change from all the killing and so on. Tomorrow we’ll get back to the Judges.

Ruth 1 – 4

Ruth is the most beautiful book in the Old Testament, a Moabite is accepted into the congregation of God, something that wasn’t supposed to happen for 10 generations after Moses. To mitigate the contradiction some claim Ruth is the eleventh generation, but this is possibly dubious.

It is possible that once Ruth demanded to follow Naomi/Mara, she assimilated into the Israelite customs, which would have separated her culturally from Moab. This would help with the laws against marrying foreigners, but I’m uncertain of how good this argument is.

Ruth gives a rare insight into everyday customs during the period of the Judges, and this makes in interesting from an anthropological perspective. What I love about Ruth is that all the “chosen people” and other exclusivist type thinking that riddles the Old Testament is non-existent and replaced by the kind of acceptance that Jesus would have approved of.

What are your thoughts?


Please give the reading through the Bible page a look if you haven’t already, there are some background posts and the index to this reading plan. Share it with others who you think can benefit from Reading the Bible.

What do you think?

